Congratulations to Snehal Chaudhari, in Dr. Edward Kipreos’s laboratory, for winning the 2015 Mary Erlanger Graduate Fellowship. This fellowship awards exceptional graduate research in areas related to aspects of aging.

Oocysts of Cryptosporidium parvum

Dr. Boris Striepen is featured in an NPR segment discussing his progress in the fight against a parasite that is a major cause of diarrheal disease in the developing world. It is contracted by drinking contaminated water.

The winner of the 2015 Annual Graduate Program Research Photo Contest is Snehal Chaudhari with this photograph of a human U2OS cell in a human bone osteosarcoma cell line.

Congratulations to Dr. Boris Streipen, who has recently been elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology.  The Academy is an honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology.

Dr. Vasant Muralidharan is the winner of the 2015 Basil O’Connor Starter Scholar Research Award. Sponsored by the March of Dimes Foundation, the Basil O’Conner Award supports research in fetal and pediatric diseases.

Two PhD students in the Department of Cellular Biology were awarded fellowships from the University of Georgia Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, providing research funding for each of them for a year.

Deformed cilia can lead to a host of diseases and conditions in the human body because of a problem related to their assembly, which requires the translocation of vast quantities of the vital cell protein tubulin.

Congratulations to Heather Bishop, in Dr. Vasant Muralidharan’s laboratory, for being awarded an ARCS Foundation Fellowship. This is a 3 year monetary award that reflects on her early accomplishment as a scientist.